Who are you becoming in 2017?

So what if it’s cliche, this is the perfect time to start fresh, set goals, and become the best you yet. At first glance, I wouldn’t say 2016 was the best year. I’m reminded of pain, betrayal, and a lot of loss. But as I look back, I see so many blessings that were aligned for me this year. 2016 was a tremendous stepping stone to who I want to become. And one thing I must say is I don’t regret who I was in 2016 and I’ve learned so much about myself.

I’ve recently read (well, technically listened to the audiobook) “The Day That Turned Your Life Around” by Jim Rohn.

The day that you bookmarked in your mind as the day you’ve decided to make a change and be the person you’ve been wanting to be. It could be a tragic experience or a simple moment of an epiphany. No matter the depth it’s all an internal battle and a decision to change your life.

I’ve had a couple of those days pinned in my memory. All very personal experiences. In these moments, I was not proud of who I was. I was disappointed in myself and in each moment I wished I could have changed something. But that’s the beauty of it…Whether you want to be smarter, richer, nicer or healthier, it’s never to late to be who you want to be.

We all may have experienced that day already, but who is it that you want to become? What values and virtues do you want to represent you the most? This is something I was constantly reminded of in 2016. Who do I want to be in positive situations and who do I want to be when things aren’t going my way. Learning to let my values depict my actions instead of my emotions determining how I would react.

This was such a struggle for me in many instances because I wanted to act in a certain way, but who I wanted to be would have reacted in a different way. However, there’s no fun in winning (or becoming who I want to be) when it’s easy, right? There’s beauty in the struggle.  If there is no struggle there’s no true victory. It’s not a win, if you cant lose. Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose, but you have to keep trying to be the person you are meant to be.

In 2017 I want to become a more grateful, diligent free spirit who lives unreasonably. Sounds like an oxymoron but you can be anything you want to be. 🙂

My proverbs for 2017:

The way to happiness is gratefulness.

For me, true happiness comes from what you make of your life. No one has a perfect life where nothing ever goes wrong. Pain is inevitable. You will have good times and you  will have hardships. But these hardships don’t have to take away your zest for life. Hardships are there to remind us to not take life for granted and to always be grateful for what you have. How can you expect to have more and be happy when you can’t find the gratitude in what you already have? The more grateful I become, the happier I become. This is because my focus is on all the good and I am reminded each day of all the blessings in my life.

Choose to live with the pain of discipline.

“We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tons.”

– Jim Rohn

I don’t want to live the life of “shoulda, coulda, woulda.” Like I could have reacted differently in that situation, or I shouldn’t have drank all that wine last night. Been there, done that. I want to be the person that looks back at her day and is confident and proud of the decisions I made. I’m glad I went on that run, or I’m glad I was still amiable even though I was disrespected. This will also help with my on and off battle with procrastination. If I know I need to do something, I need to learn to do it in that moment and avoid putting it off for “tomorrow.” Which leads into my next proverb…

Release my resistance.

Resistance to change, money, love, fear, everything. Resistance to procrastination. For myself, procrastination is often caused by some kind of fear. Fear of not being ready or fear of stepping out of my comfort zone. I need to learn to release my resistances of contrast situations. Instead, I need to appreciate the contrast because it brings forth needed change. Change to improve myself.

Believe in myself.

You are your own worst enemy. Self doubt has hindered my ability to accomplish my dreams. Self worth has haunted me in saying that I wasn’t good enough. If I just believe in myself more, I will make much more progress than when I doubt myself.

Grab hold of the future.

“Let go of the past and grab hold to the future.”

– Pastor Dave from The Father’s House

This is one motion, you can’t do one without the other. You can’t grab hold to the future, or even present, when you’re still holding on to the past. Let it go and trust your path.

As you think, so you become.

Ingest more positive thoughts. Stand guard to what goes into your mind. Thoughts become words, that become habits, that become your character.  Are your thoughts pessimistic or optimistic? Is it feeding your mental factory or is it mindless? I’ve learned that certain shows and social media content sometimes feed a lot of negative thoughts. They highlight what is wrong in this world and make me feel anxious or fearful. Doing more things that keep me positively aligned. Such as reading and working out more. Working out exercises my body and reading exercises my brain. I’ve found a new love for reading. It has opened my eyes to so much clarity and affirmation.

Don’t get tired of doing what is good

I don’t know how many times I’ve prayed for patience and strength. But the funny thing about when you pray for patience, you are given opportunities to test your patience.  There are going to be times when I have no motivation to be kind. Those are the times I need to be kind the most. I need to remind myself of why I’m doing this or why I’ve started. Results are not instant. Trial and error may occur many times before I get something right. But I can’t give up on being the person I want to be just because of mistakes I’ve made. I also must say that the people I surround myself with often reflect the direction I want to head. I am blessed to have so many people in my life that continue to motivate and believe in me. They know my heart and know how to keep my focus on the right path.

Live unreasonably

What stops you from doing what you’re meant to do in life? Probably a bunch of reasons and excuses. If it’s important you’ll find a way, if it’s not important you’ll find an excuse. There will always be a reason to do something and a reason not to do it. So how do you decide which reason you choose? Better yet, how about you choose neither and live unreasonably. I choose to live by my values and virtues and not by reasons. Deciding to make today, the present, perfect instead of living to make the future perfect. I don’t want to miss an opportunity or adventure because of a reason. I want to live life to the fullest because our time here on Earth is precious and limited. Don’t waste it on reasons.

Each one of these proverbs will stand as a daily reminder of who I want to become in 2017. I will continue to put my faith in God and trust what he is doing in my life.

-Most of this content was inspired by Jim Rohn; his books, audiobooks, quotes, and youtube videos. If you haven’t listened him and you’re looking to make a change in your life, I recommend to do so.

Let’s make 2017 the best year yet!!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

